Swansea [swɒnzɪ] (Welsh Abertawe [abɛrtauɛ]) is a city in South Wales and also a Principal Area. Swansea is on the coast of the Bristol Channel, just east of the Gower Peninsula. It is named after the capital Cardiff, the second largest city in Wales and one of the 40 largest cities of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The actual core city has 169,000 inhabitants. Swansea as county about 241,300 inhabitants and has both the status of a county and a city.