Spean Bridge (Gaelic: Drochaid Aonachain) is a small village in the Scottish Highlands. The name of the settlement dates back to a bridge over the same river. Erroneously is assumed to frequent it were dealing with the bridge in the center, which was built by Thomas Telford in 1819 and reported to the A82 leads today. In reality, however, the name comes from a bridge near today's village near Highbridge. It was built in 1736 as part of the road between Fort William and Fort Augustus on behalf of the British Field Marshal George Wade. The bridge collapsed in 1913, so that today only the pillars exist. Spean Bridge is located in the Great Glen. Through the town the highways A82, which leads coming from the south from Fort William towards Inverness in the north, as well as the A86, which runs from east Spean Bridge to Kingussie, where it meets the A9 run. The place also has a station on the West Highland Line, which is served by First ScotRail. In addition to several pairs of trains between Glasgow and Mallaig and the pulling part London Fort William at the Caledonian Sleeper holds. Between 1903 and 1933 the village was the starting point of Invergarry and Fort Augustus Railway, which was adjusted from a lack of efficiency. Near Spean Bridge, at the intersection of the A82 and the road to Achnacarry, is the Commando Memorial, a war memorial that is dedicated to the Commandos who trained between 1942 and 1945 in Achnacarry at Spean Bridge in the possession of the Clan Cameron were. North of the Commando Memorial are the two lakes Loch Lochy and, to the West in Glen Dessarry, Loch Arkaig, both popular hiking destinations. In Achnacarry, at the east end of Loch Arkaig, is the Museum of the Clan Cameron.
Copyrights 2017-2019. All rights reserved by: TripDron