Southport is a town with 91,404 inhabitants (2001) in the North West on the coast of the Irish Sea, north of Liverpool. Earlier Southport belonged to Lancashire County, since the administrative reform of 1974, it is part of the metropolitan county of Merseyside, which was converted into a so-called ceremonial county 1986th Within Merseyside Southport is part of the Metropolitan Borough of Sefton.