Perth (click to listen! [Pɛrθ] or [pɜːθ]) (Scottish Gaelic Peairt) is a town of 46,970 inhabitants in central Scotland. It is since the Middle Ages with the royal rights of a free city (royal burgh) provided and is located on the Tay. It is the administrative center of the Perth and Kinross region. By 1975, it was the capital of the former county of Perthshire. The name Perth has since been used for other cities around the world, the most famous Perth in Western Australia. She was named at the request of the then war and Colonial Secretary, Sir George Murray so because he was born in Perth, Scotland. The name comes from the Perth Pictish word for wood or underbrush. In the Middle Ages, the city has long been considered "St. John's Toun "means, according to the church, which was dedicated to John the Baptist. She was in St. John's Street. The name lives on in club name of the local football club, St. Johnstone F.C.