Mevagissey

Mevagissey (Cornish: Lannvorek) is a large English fishing village on the south coast of County Cornwall. It is located about 6 miles south of St Austell in Mevagissey Bay. Although fishing is still an important activity, in recent years tourism has become Mevagissey's main source of income. Mevagissey is located in a small valley that opens eastwards to the English Channel. The old town center is characterized by its narrow, picturesque streets and the old harbor. These form the main attraction for tourism. Other attractions include The Lost Gardens of Heligan, to the west of Mevagissey, and a model railway exhibit featuring more than 2,000 exhibits. Built in 1745 as a shipyard for smugglers, the Mevagissey Museum provides an insight into the daily lives of earlier times. Exhibits include historical photographs from the 19th and 20th centuries as well as various exhibits from the areas of household, agriculture, fishing and military. (Open from Easter to the end of October.)

Hotels