Mallaig (Scottish Gaelic Malaig) is a village of 806 inhabitants on the west coast of Scotland in the council area of ​​Highland. The place is an important fishing and ferry port. Mallaig was founded in 1840 by Lord Lovat Lovat purely as a fishing port. Its rapidly growing importance in the 20th century owes the place around the first of the connection to the British railway network in 1901 by the West Highland Railway was extended from Fort William to Mallaig. The landed in Mallaig fish could be removed quickly and cost-effectively in this way. The local fishermen are now dedicated to the fishing of shrimp and lobsters. In early times, especially herring fishing was at the center. In 1932, the first car ferry from Mallaig to Skye wrong. Today ferry connections to the islands of Skye, Rùm, Canna, Eigg, Muck and South Uist and the peninsula Knoydart, which stresses the importance Mallaigs has greatly increased as a ferry port. Mallaig is also known as the terminus of the steam train "The Jacobite" which runs during the summer months to Mallaig daily from Fort William. More diesel-powered trains run all year on this route. In Mallaig by tourists busy scenic road Road to the Isles, which runs largely parallel to the railway line Fort William-Mallaig also ends. The village is now strongly influenced by tourism. In the center there are several pubs, restaurants and shops as a tourist infrastructure. Many passengers of the Jacobite Steam Trains, which stops in place for quarter hours, take the time to visit. * Port of Mallaig * Ferry to Skye * Mallaig Station * Sculpture Fisherman and Child