Larne (Irish Latharna) was one of the 26 Northern Ireland Districts that existed from 1973 to 2015. The District, whose territory was in the traditional county of Antrim, was established in 1973 and had the status of a Borough. Significant places in the Borough were the city of Larne, which was also the administrative center, as well as Bally Hampton, Carnfunnock, Ballygawn and Carnlough. 1 April 2015, he went on in the new District Mid and East Antrim.