Isleornsay (Scottish Gaelic: Eilean Iarmain Eilean or Dhiarmaid, German: "Iarmans island" or "Dermot's Island") is a small village on the island of Skye in Scotland. It is located east of the peninsula Sleat about eleven kilometers south of Broadford. The island of Ornsay provides good protection, so Isleornsay has one of the best natural harbors in southern Skye. The town was founded as a port for herring fishing in the early 19th century. Afterwards Isleornsay was often visited by the ships of Glasgow as a stopover. In 1820 there the first public toilet in Skye errichtet.Lange time the port was the main link to the mainland. The post office of the place was the main post of the Sleat Peninsula. Near the harbor, Hotel Eilean Iarmain the gallery is located on Talla Dearg. The hotel was built in 1888 and was owned by Sir Iain Noble, a businessman who has been actively used for the revival and preservation of the Scottish Gaelic language on Skye.