Great Barr Hall is a Grade II listed manor house in Great Barr (now a northern suburb of Birmingham), which had been built in 1777 by the noble family Scott and after the First World War, part of an asylum for the mentally ill was the "St. Margereths Hospital", also known as the "Great Barr idiot Colony". Following closure of the site in the late 1970s, the building fell into disrepair and is built in a land reclassification again since of 2005. Great Barr Hall is considered next to Soho House as the most important meeting place for the Lunar Society between 1790 and 1799. The main house was around 1777 in place of a building of about 1650, the Nether House erected so-called. The client was Joseph Scott, a Scottish baronet and later Sir, the Great Barr was chosen as a residence for himself and his family and house and park was eager to make appropriate. But when Scott ran into financial difficulties in 1788 he was forced to lease the property. As a financially strong tenants to Samuel Galton found, an entrepreneur and banker of the early Industrial Revolution and a member of the Lunar Society. The property offered by its large number of rooms, the possibility of holding meetings of the learned group of the Lunar Society and possibly offer accommodation places. So Great Barr Hall was from 1790 to 1799 a popular destination for famous people such as James Watt, Joseph Priestley, Josiah Wedgwood and William Murdoch. In 1791, the site was made after the death of the builder to Sir Francis Scott, who moved there after the expiry of the lease in 1864 and died in Great Barr Hall. 1840 and 1863 the original building was rebuilt to a design by renowned architect George Gilbert Scott and particularly extended to a very concise chapel, but was never ordained and served as a billiard room. After the death of the widow Scott (1909) has purchased the site in 1911 by a hospital and converted to an asylum for the mentally Impaired from 1918th Originally, the mansion was used for this purpose, but after completion of the new buildings for the asylum the use of Great Barr Hall has been set. Although at that time already heavily run-down mansion was added to the list of protected building still in 1971 it fell into disrepair after the Hospital operation in 1978 noticeably. In the early 1990s Great Barr Hall consisted only of the foundations and the Clock Tower. Only the associated landscape park was well maintained and open to the public. Following a decision of the Health Commission of the city, the site was sold to a private investor in 1997, which demolish the old buildings of the hospital and wanted to overbuild with new settlement homes. After some excitement in the city's population, he got the support, not to demolish the ruins of the mansion, but to restore. Great Barr Hall should therefore be developed with apartments. The construction work on the site of the former hospital began in 2005. About a month before the work was burning the historic part of the ruin from an arson, the clock tower had to be stopped due to the damage. Although it looked for a while as if the ruins would have to be demolished in its entirety was a big part of the outer walls get and the intended renovation are fed.
Copyrights 2017-2019. All rights reserved by: TripDron