Grange-over-Sands

Grange-over-Sands

Grange-over-Sands is a small town and a civil parish with 4,042 inhabitants (2001) on the peninsula Cartmel in Cumbria, England. The village is located on the northern shore of Morecambe Bay and is therefore exposed to the large tidal range of the Bay, drops dry on the coast of large areas and thus explains the additional name "Sands". Until 1974 the place was in Lancashire and he is still a part of the Duchy of Lancaster today. The place was a fishing village that was back when connected to the Ulverston and Lancaster Railway in 1857 to a popular seaside resort. The estuary of the River Kent in Morecambe Bay was formerly situated on the promenade of the place, he has, however, moved further south and so let salt marshes occur, which are used as Schafwiesen today. To be independent of the tide, in 1932 a swimming pool (called in the English language and Lido) built on the shores of Morecambe Bay, which was closed in 1993 and 2011 as a cultural monument (Grade II) was protected. The clean, salty air was considered healthy for people suffering from tuberculosis, so in 1891 a few kilometers east of Grange-over-Sands, one of the first sanatoriums for treatment of tuberculosis established in the village Meathop.

Hotels