Cwmbran (Welsh Cwmbrân [kʊmbrɑːn]) is a New Town in the local County Borough of Torfaen in southeast Wales, United Kingdom. in the Welsh language Cwmbran means "Valley of the Crow". Cwmbran is an amalgamation of the villages Old Cwmbran (Hen Gwmbrân), Pontnewydd, Upper Cwmbran (Cwmbrân Uchaf), Croesyceiliog, Llantarnam and Llanyrafon. The population is approximately 47,300 (as of 2001), which makes Cwmbran the sixth largest metropolitan area of ​​Wales.