Burray is with an area of 9.03 square kilometers, with a length of approximately 5 km and a max. Width of three kilometers one of the smaller islands of Orkney. The name comes from Old Norse, meaning Borgaray Broch Island. It is located about two kilometers south of Mainland and a few hundred meters north of South Ronaldsay and is connected to two islands by the dams of the Churchill Barriers. This runs a highway, so that Kirk Wall or ferry in Burwick are achievable. Most of the 357 residents live in the fishing village of Burray Village. They work on Mainland or living from fishing and agriculture (livestock). Tourism plays a minor role. On Burray there is a church, a fossil museum and in the north the remains of the Broch of Northfield and the St. Lawrence's Church. In the West, in the bay of Scapa Flow achievable over a dam uninhabited island Hunda is. Abandoned, the two are connected by the north Churchill Barriers small neighboring islands Glims Holm and Lamb Holm. On the latter a camp for Italian prisoners of war who had to help build the Churchill Barriers was in the Second World War. They set up in 1943 in simple Italian Chapel, a small chapel, which is a war memorial today. On the island a refuge from the Viking Age and a bone hoard was found from Pictish times. There was until 1863 a Stalled Cairn in Northfield, which the tenant has destroyed. About twenty human and seven dogs skeletons were found.
Copyrights 2017-2019. All rights reserved by: TripDron