Paramaribo is one of ten districts in Suriname. As district he bordered on the north to the mouth of Suriname to (river) and the Atlantic Ocean. Paramaribo is also by far the largest agglomeration of the Republic of Suriname and the capital of the country. He is with an area of ​​182 sq km, the smallest of the districts in Suriname, has about 241,000 inhabitants and is by far the most populous district. In Parliament (Assemblée Nationale De) of the District of Paramaribo has 17 deputies.