Monaco-Ville (Monegasque Munegu-Vila) is the oldest and smallest city by population in the district (fr. Quartier) in the Principality of Monaco. It has an area of ​​0.2 square kilometers (19.65 hectares) and adjoins the Monaco municipalities Fontvieille and La Condamine. Monaco-Ville is historically a fortified old town, parts of the fastening are still visible today. By 1917 Monaco-Ville was a separate municipality (commune) within the Principality and is now referred to as Old Town or by the locals as le Rocher. It lies on a rocky peninsula between the two ports of Monaco, Port Hercule (municipality of La Condamine) to the north and Port de Fontvieille (Fontvieille district) 60 meters extending from the Mediterranean to the southwest. Monaco-Ville, among others, the Prince Palace of the Grimaldis is. The municipality is therefore referred to by many sources as the capital of the Principality. However, the separation between city and state is purely theoretical. Every day takes place changing of the guard at the Palace at 11:55. Furthermore, there is the world-famous Oceanographic Museum, which was once headed by Jacques-Yves Cousteau and the Notre-Dame-Immaculée Cathedral. * Palace on the peninsula Le Rocher * Lock * Cathedral