Malaysia (more rarely Malaysia) is a country in Southeast Asia and consists of two geographically through the South China Sea separate parts of the country, the Malay Peninsula in the west and parts of the island of Borneo in the east. The western part is bordered to the north by Thailand, located in the south of the city-state of Singapore, on a barrier island, the eastern part shares a long border with Indonesia and encloses the north, the Sultanate of Brunei. The majority of about 28.3 million inhabitants live in the western part. Malaysia was formed from various fields, all of which were part of the British Empire in various forms, its final independence it received in 1963. Head of State is the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the King of Malaysia, which is selected from a series of nine noble carriers every five years so that the country is one of the few choice monarchies in the world. The Parliament of Malaysia is made up on the British model of upper and lower house. Since the first election holds guided by the party United Malays National Organization coalition, Barisan Nasional, held the majority in both chambers. Malaysia is a founding member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and is classified as an emerging market because of its economic development in recent decades.