Nairobi is the capital of Kenya with 3,138,369 inhabitants (census in August 2009) living in an area of ​​about 693 square kilometers. By 2010, Nairobi was also the capital of one of the eight provinces of the country, today is Nairobi in Nairobi County. The town's name comes from the Maa-term Engare Nyarobie, which means about "cool waters".