Kwale County (until 2010 Kwale District) is a county in Kenya. The capital of the county is Kwale. In Kwale County 2009 649.931 people lived on 8,270.3 square kilometers. The county is divided into five divisions: Kinango, Kubo, Matuga, Msamweni and Samburu. The Kwale County encounters in the south to the border with Tanzania, the eastern boundary is formed by the Indian Ocean. The largest towns in the county are Ukunda (61,000 inhabitants) and Msambweni (55,000 inhabitants). Both towns are tourist centers. In 2001, 40\% of the population were below the poverty line.