Cesena (in ancient Caesena) is a city in the Italian region of Emilia-Romagna, south of Ravenna and north-west of Rimini, on the river Savio with 96,758 inhabitants (December 31, 2015), and the second largest city in the province of Forlì-Cesena. The town lies at the foot of the Apennine Mountains, located around 15 kilometers from the Adriatic Sea. Cesena is the birthplace of Pope Pius VI. and Pius VII. Pius VIII. was bishop of the Diocese of Cesena available on the site, which is why Cesena called the "City of the three popes."