Yogyakarta (Yogya short form, different spelling Jogjakarta) is a city in the center of the Indonesian island of Java. The city, together with the neighboring city of Surakarta the center of traditional Javanese culture and is due to its numerous universities and the educational center of the archipelago. In 2004, 511,744 people lived in Yogyakarta to 32.8 square kilometers. The population of the entire urban area that extends far to the two adjacent administrative districts (Kabupaten) Sleman and Bantul is estimated at about 1.5 million. During the Indonesian war of independence 1945-1949 Yogyakarta Indonesian capital was.