The town of Serang is as an independent Municipality (Indonesian Kota - city) also the capital of the West Javanese province of Banten. also administrative headquarters of the government district of the same is serang (Indonesian Kabupaten). It claims 5.7\% of the population and 2.8\% of the area of ​​Banten province. The City of Serang is enclosed on three sides by the regency (kabupaten) Serang and only in the north of the coast as a limit (Java Sea).