Palembang is an Indonesian city in the southeast of the island of Sumatra, with 1,276,030 inhabitants (calculation 2010). It is the second largest (after Medan) City of Sumatra and the capital of the province of South Sumatra. Its area is 400.61 square kilometers. The Musi River divides the city in Seberang Ilir to the economic and cultural center on the north and Seberang Ulu to the political center on the southern shore. The city is the administrative center and hub for the fantastic nearby oil fields and rubber plantations. Economically significant, moreover, refineries, shipbuilding and iron processing. Since 1960 there is a university. Palembang has multiple ports (Boom Baru, 36 Ilir and Tanjung Api-api), including with ferry services to the island of Bangka and after Banten. Traditional speedboats, called Ketek, to transport passengers along the river banks. The Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II Airport provides national and international connections. From the 5th to the 11th century Palembang was the capital of the Buddhist kingdom of Srivijaya dominated, the decline began in the 11th century pirate raids from Java and South India. Since the Islamization of Sumatra in the 16th century it was the capital of the Sultanate. The Dutch influence began in the 17th century, in 1825 the sultanate was abolished and the city came under Dutch colonial administration, which lasted until the independence of Indonesia 1949th The city is divided into 16 Kecamatan (sub-districts) and 107 Kelurahan. The 16 sub-districts are: * Ilir Timur I * Ilir Timur II * Ilir Barat I * Ilir Barat II * Seberang Ulu I * Seberang Ulu II * Sukarame * Sako * Bukit Kecil * Kemuning * Kertapati * Plaju * Gandus * Kalidoni * Alang-alang lebar * Sematang Borang