Jakarta / dʒa- / (until the spelling reform of 1972 Djakarta written) is the capital of the Republic of Indonesia. 9.58 million inhabitants (2010) in the city proper, it is the largest city in Southeast Asia with about 30 million inhabitants (2014) in the metropolitan area Jabodetabek's second largest metropolitan area worldwide. The capital has the status of a province, governed by a governor. Officially, the city under Daerah Khusus Ibu Kota Jakarta (Special Capital Region Jakarta) is listed. Jakarta is the political, economic and cultural center of the country and transport hub with universities, colleges, theaters and museums. The city's population is of diverse backgrounds, so people living in it Malay, Arabic, Indian, Dutch and Chinese descent.