Trier (french Treves, Luxembourgish Treier) is an independent town in the west of the country Rhineland-Palatinate. With nearly 115,000 inhabitants, it is after Mainz and Ludwigshafen am Rhein its third largest city. Nationwide is Trier on the 67th place among the 79 major cities in Germany (as of 2015). Trier is a university and a college, the administration of the district Trier-Saarburg, the administration of Trier-Land, the Supervisory and Service Directorate (ADD, and 1999 county government Trier), several departments of the country Investigation Office (LUA), an agency of the State Office of Social Affairs, youth and supply Rhineland-Palatinate and a Roman Catholic diocese (diocese of Trier, the oldest north of the Alps). The city was founded more than 2000 years ago under the name Augusta Treverorum (from the second half of the 3rd century Treveris) and claimed the title of the oldest city in Germany itself. Trier relies here on the longest history as already recognized by the Romans, as opposed to a settlement or an army camp. The Roman monuments in Trier, consisting of amphitheater, Barbara Baths, Imperial Baths, Constantine Basilica, Porta Nigra, Roman Bridge, Cathedral and the Church of Our Lady and the Igel Column outside the gates of the city, are since 1986 a UNESCO World Heritage Site.