Schwerin ([ʃvɛʁiːn] or [ʃvəʁiːn] Meckl.-schwerinerisch Swerin) is the capital of Mecklenburg. The independent city is second only to Rostock city and one of the four main centers of the state, in addition to Rostock, Stralsund-Greifswald and Neubrandenburg. According to the main statute of the city leads the term "capital" in front of the city name. Schwerin was already mentioned in year 1018 as a turning castle for the first time and received in 1160 founded by Henry the Lion German town charter. This makes it the oldest city in today's Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The city expanded over time on the western and southern shore of Lake Schwerin inside out, a total of twelve lakes are located within the city limits. The starting point of urban development was the site of the present-day symbol of the city: Schwerin Castle is located on an island between Lake Schwerin and Burgsee with a castle church from the year 1560. The castle was until 1918 a main residence of the Mecklenburg dukes and grand dukes and since 1990 seat of the state parliament. It was with its surrounding gardens the main venue of the Federal Garden Show in 2009 and is a historic ensemble of a candidate for the UNESCO World Heritage. In addition, Schwerin is characterized by its German for a city of this size unusually well-preserved old town, the adjacent Schelfstadt, the spa district Zippendorf and other historic district with many historical buildings. Economically dominant technology companies, the German railway, mechanical engineering and material processing, consumer production, the public sector, the health industry and clinics, as well as service industries and tourism. Moreover, it is Schwerin university city with a total of about 600 students, as the site of the University of the Federal Employment Agency, the private college of the middle class as well as the design school.