Paderborn (in the old paderbornischen Platt: Paterboärn in Paderborn vernacular nowadays Pad (d) Aboan) is about 148,000 inhabitants city in the eastern German state of North Rhine-Westphalia. She is the kreisangehorige district seat of the Paderborn, regional center and center of the region Bishopric of Paderborn. In addition, Paderborn is the largest city in the south of East Westphalia-Lippe region. The name Paderborn consists of Paderborn (the river on which the city is located) and Born, an earlier name for source. Already in 1614 was founded in Paderborn, the first university of Westphalia, it is today an independent Faculty of Theology. A new university has been around since 1972. Since the early 9th century, the city is the seat of the diocese of Paderborn, which was raised in 1930 to the Archbishopric. Until 1802/03 Paderborn was the capital of the diocese of Paderborn. In the course of administrative reform in North Rhine-Westphalia, the city received in 1975 with the incorporation of surrounding communities through the Sauerland / Paderborn Act its current expansion and the population increased to over 100,000, which Paderborn had become a big city.