Coburg is an independent city in the Bavarian administrative district of Upper Franconia and seat of the district office Coburg. Of 16-17. Century until 1918 it was the residence of the Dukes of Saxe-Coburg, from the mid-19th to the late 20th century garrison town; Since 1971 Coburg is home to a university. By incorporations in 1934 and from 1972 to 1977, the urban area expanded to over four times the size. Since 2005 Coburg carries the nickname European city. Above the city one of the largest castles in Germany rises to the Veste Coburg.