The Republic of Cyprus (Greek Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία Kypriaki Dimokratia, Turkish Kıbrıs Cumhuriyeti) is an island country in the Eastern Mediterranean. The state was created on 16 August 1960 by the former crown colony independence from the United Kingdom. From 20 July 1974, the north of the island by Turkey occupied (Cyprus conflict) where the TRNC was proclaimed November 15, 1983 unilaterally after Greek coup plotters wanted to enforce the annexation of Cyprus to Greece was. In Resolution 541, the proclamation of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus by the United Nations was declared invalid. On 1 May 2004 the Republic of Cyprus became a member of the European Union (EU). Since they can exercise its jurisdiction only in the southern part of their recognized territory, only this is in fact part of the EU. On 1 January 2008 the Cyprus pound was replaced by the euro.