Taizhou (Chinese 泰州 市, pinyin Taizhou shì) is a prefecture-level city in Jiangsu province of the People's Republic of China. The administrative area of ​​Taizhou and covers an area of ​​5,793 square kilometers inhabited by 5,030,000 people (end of 2004). At county level, Taizhou is made up of three districts and three urban districts. These are: * District Hailing (海陵区), km² 210, 430,000 inhabitants; * District Gaogang (高 港区), 224 square kilometers, 190,000 inhabitants; * District Jiangyan (姜堰 区) 1,046 km², 900,000 inhabitants; * City Jingjiang (靖江 市), 665 square kilometers, 660,000 inhabitants; * City Taixing (泰兴 市), km² 1256, 1.28 million inhabitants; * City Xinghua (兴化 市), 2,393 square kilometers, 1.55 million inhabitants. Twin cities of Taizhou, the US Newport News, South Korean county Eumseong-gun, Huy (Belgium) and Santos (Brazil). It is the birthplace of the Chinese navy.