Guyuan (Chinese 固原 市, Pinyin Gùyuán Shì) is a prefecture-level city in the Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region of the People's Republic of China. Guyana's administrative territory, which is divided into a municipality and four districts with a total of approximately 1.51 million inhabitants (as of the end of 2003), occupies the entire southern tip of the Autonomous Region. It is bordered to the north by the cities of Wuzhong and Zhongwei (both in Ningxia) and is completely surrounded by Gansu Province to the east, west and south. The city of Guyuan has emerged from the former government district Guyuan (固原 地区). On 7 July 2001, after the State Council of the PRC decided to dissolve the administrative district and the Guyuan (固原 县) district, this decision was carried out administratively exactly one year later, the Guyuan district-free city and - on the area of ​​the former Guyuan district - the district Yuanzhou founded. On December 31, 2003, Haiyuan County (海原 县) was released from Guyuan and incorporated into the northern neighboring city of Zhongwei.