Sarajevo (Serb Cyrillic Сарајево;. Dt also Sarajevo) is capital and government seat of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina i / FBiH), of Canton Sarajevo and in law the RS. The city has in its four municipalities Stari Grad (Old Town), Centar (Center), Novi Grad (New Town) and Novo Sarajevo (New Sarajevo) 291,422 inhabitants. In agglomeration Sarajevo about 515,000 and in the metropolitan region of Sarajevo 608,354 inhabitants (census 2013) living. Due to the number of inhabitants and the economic and political importance of Sarajevo is the only Bosnian capital. The southeast part of Sarajevo administratively belongs to the city of Istočno Sarajevo in the Republika Srpska. Sarajevo was known by three events: by the assassination in Sarajevo on 28 June 1914, through the 1984 Winter Olympics and the siege by troops of the Army of Republika Srpska during the Bosnian war from 1992 to 1995.