Feldkirch (Romansh: Sogn Pieder? / I) is measured in terms of population, with 32,526 inhabitants (1 January 2016), the second largest city in the Austrian province of Vorarlberg and also the seat of the district administration of the prefecture of the same name. The city is located at the output of Illtal valley in the plane of the Alpine Rhine and borders Switzerland and to Liechtenstein. Feldkirch is the westernmost town in Austria and the 13th-most populous city. Feldkirch is the seat which is why it is also called the "secret capital" of many institutions. These include the National Court Feldkirch, the Vorarlberg Chamber of Commerce, the Chamber of Labor Vorarlberg, the largest state hospital in Vorarlberg (Feldkirch State Hospital), the Vorarlberg State Conservatory, a branch of the Federal Finance Court and the State Bureau of Surveying and Geoinformation (LVG). Since 1968 Feldkirch diocesan town and the bishop's residence since the founding of the College of Education Vorarlberg 2007, University City.