Temora Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 2,802 square kilometers and has about 6,000 inhabitants. Temora in the region around the Murrumbidgee River in the southern half of the state about 420 kilometers west of Sydney and 210 km northwest of the Australian capital Canberra. There are 25 districts and towns: Baghdad, Bectric, Chellington, Clear Hills, Combaning, Combaning South, Dinga Dinga, Gidginbung, Narraburra, Pucawan, Quandary, Reefton, Sebastopol, Springdale, Tara, Temora, Trungley, Trungley Hall, Wallundry and parts of Ariah Park, Coolamon, Grogan, Mimosa, Mirrool and Young. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Temora in the center of the LGA, where about 4,000 people live.