Singleton Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 4,896 square kilometers and has about 23,000 inhabitants. Singleton is located in the Hunter Valley about 210 kilometers north of Sydney. The area covers 105 districts and towns, including Belford, Branxton, Broke, Bulga, Camberwell, Carrowbrook, Elderslie, Howes Valley, Jerrys Plains, Mirranie, Mount Olive, Putty, Ravensworth, Singleton and Warksworth. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Singleton in the northeast half of the LGA, where about 14,000 people live.