Oberon is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 3,627 km² and has about 5,050 inhabitants. Oberon is located in the Central West region about 210 km west of the metropolis Sydney and 240 km northeast of the Australian capital Canberra. The area encompasses 59 districts and towns including Black Springs, Burraga, Edith, Hazelgrove, Jenolan Caves, Mount David, Oberon, Shooters Hill, Swatchfield and parts of The Lagoon, O'Connell and Wisemans Creek. The council's administrative headquarters are in the town of Oberon, in the northern half of the LGA, which has about 2,500 inhabitants.