Moree Plains Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 17,928 square kilometers and has about 13,500 inhabitants. Moree Plains is located in the north of the state on the border with Queensland about 650 kilometers north of Sydney and 475 km south-west of Brisbane. The area includes 79 districts and towns, including Boggabilla, Gurley, Moree, Mungindi, Pallamallawa and Weemelah. The seat of the Shire Council is in Moree in the eastern half of the LGA, where about 7,700 people live.