Leeton Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 1,167 square kilometers and has about 11,000 inhabitants. Leeton is located in the south of the state on the Murrumbidgee River about 370 km west of the Australian capital Canberra and 580 kilometers west of Sydney. The area includes 36 districts and towns, including Amesbury, Corbie Hill, Fivebough, Gogeldrie, Gralee, Leeton, Leeton North, Merungle Hill, Murrami, Parkview, Stanbridge, Stoney Point, Wamoon, Wattle Hill, Willimbong, Yanco and part of Whitton , The seat of the Shire Council is in Leeton in the east of the LGA, where about 6,700 people live.