Kempsey Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 2,301 square kilometers and has about 28,000 inhabitants. Kempsey is located in the east of the state on the Pacific coast about 425 km north-east of Sydney and 510 kilometers south of Brisbane. The area covers 114 districts and towns, including Arakoon, Bellbrook, Burnt Bridge, Clybucca, Comara, Crescent Head, Five Day Creek, Fredrickton, Gladstone, Grassy Head, Hat Head, Jerseyville, Kempsey, Kinchela, Millbank, Sherwood, Smithtown, Stuart Point, Turners Flat and Willawarrin. The seat of the Shire Councils located in the district West Kempsey in the east of the LGA. The town of Kempsey has about 10,400 inhabitants.