Junee Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 2,301 square kilometers and has about 5,900 inhabitants. Junee is located in the south of the state in the Murrumbidgee region about 220 kilometers northwest of the Australian capital Canberra and 430 km south-west of Sydney. The area includes 28 districts and towns: Bendure, Bethungra, Bethungra South, Bute, Coreena, coursing Park, Dirnaseer, Erin Vale, Eurongilly, Illabo, Ironbong, Junee, Junee North, Junee Reefs, Old Junee, Marinna, Mitta Mitta, Retreat Retreat East, Rockview, Wantiool, Yathella and parts of downside, Harefield, Marrar, Nangus, Wallace Town and Wantabadgery. The seat of the Shire Council is in Junee in the center of the LGA, where about 4,400 people live.