Inverell Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 8,606 square kilometers and has about 16,000 inhabitants. Inverell is located in the northeast of the country on the border of Queensland about 630 kilometers north of Sydney and 430 km south-west of Brisbane. The area includes 83 districts and towns, including Ashford, Bonshaw, Bukkulla, delungra, Elsmore, Gilgai, Gum Flat, Inverell, Kings Plains, Mount Russell, Nullamanna, Oakwood, Sapphire, Stannifer, Wallangra and Yetman. The seat of the Shire Council is in Inverell south of the LGA, where about 9,350 people live.