Hay Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 1,896 square kilometers and has about 3,000 residents. Hay is in the southwest of the state of Murrumbidgee and Lachlan River about 720 kilometers west of Sydney. The area comprising 24 villages and towns: Benarca, Benduck, Booligal, Burrabogie, Cobran, Eurolie, Eurugabah, Geramy, Hay, Hay Irrigation Area, Hay South, Hay West, Illilliwa, Maude, Nap Nap, Newmarket, Nulabor, One Tree, Pevensey, Ravensworth, Thelangerin, Toogimbie, Wyoming and part of Oxley. The seat of the Shire Councils located in Hay in the southern half of the LGA, where about 2,300 people live.