Gilgandra Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 4,836 square kilometers and has about 4,350 inhabitants. Gilgandra is located in the North-Western region of the state about 440 km north-west of Sydney. The area includes 23 districts and towns: Armatree, Balla Doran, Bearbong, Bear Bung, Berida, Biddon, Boyben, Breelong, Bringle, Curban, Gilgandra, Innisfail, Kamber, Kickabil, New Merrigal, Pibbon, Tooraweenah, Wallumburrawong, Windurong, Woodlands and parts Collie, Gulargambone and Mendooran. The seat of the Shire Council is in Gilgandra, where about 2,700 people live.