Corowa Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state New South Wales. The area is 2,324 square kilometers and has about 11,000 inhabitants. Corowa is located in the south of the state on the Murray River on the border with Victoria about 400 km west of the Australian capital Canberra and 610 km southwest of Sydney and 300 km north-east of Melbourne. The area includes 19 districts and towns: Brawlin, Carinyah, Cootamundra, Cullinga, Dudauman, Frampton, Gundibindyal, Jindalee, Kilrush, Kyron, Country Grove, Meemar, Morrison Hill, Stockinbingal, Wallendbeen, Willows, Yannawah, Yeo Yeo and part of Jugiong , The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Corowa on the Murray, where about 5,600 people live.