The Cobar Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 45,606 square kilometers and has about 4,700 inhabitants. Cobar is located in the center of the state in the North-Western region and is about 700 kilometers west of Sydney. The area includes 40 districts and towns, including Cobar, Eubalong West, Nymagee, Mount Hope and part of Eubalong. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Cobar in the northeast of the LGA, almost 3,800 residents live.