Bourke Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 41,679 square kilometers and has about 2,850 inhabitants. Bourke is on the north Queensland border on Darling River in the North-Western Region about 780 km north-west of Sydney. The area includes 29 districts and towns: Barringun, Beemery, Belalie, Boorindal, Bourke, Brindingabba, Cornerstone Community, Dry Lake, Enngonia, Fords Bridge, Grass Hut, Gumbalie, Gunderbooka, Hungerford, Janina, Lauradale, Louth, Mount Mulyah, North Bourke Pera Bore, Rainbar, Rathgar, Toorale East, Warraweena, WinBar, Yantabulla, Young Erina Bore and parts of Byrock and Wanaaring. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Bourke in the eastern half of the LGA, where about 2,050 people live.