The Blayney Shire is a local government area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 1,525 km² and has about 7,000 inhabitants. Blayney is located in the Central West region about 240 km west of the metropolis Sydney and 260 km north of the Australian capital Canberra. The area encompasses 40 districts and localities including Barry, Beneree, Blayney, Browns Creek, Carcoar, Forest Reefs, Garland, Hobby's Yard, Kings Plains, Lyndhurst, Newbridge and parts of Mandurama, Millthorpe and Neville. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Blayney in the northeast of the LGA, where about 2,800 inhabitants live.