The District Council of Berri Barmera is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of South Australia. The area is 508 km ² and has about 10,600 inhabitants. Berri Barmera is located in the east of South Australia on the northern edge of the Murray Lands near the border with Victoria about 200 km east of the city of Adelaide. The area includes eight districts and towns: Barmera, Berri, Cobdogla, Glossop, Loveday, Monash, Overland Corner and Winkie. The council's administrative headquarters are located in Berri, east of the LGA on the Murray River, which has approximately 4,100 residents.