The Bega Valley Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 6,280 square kilometers and has about 32,000 inhabitants. Bega Valley is located in the southeast corner of New South Wales on the Pacific coast on the border of the State of Victoria. It is located about 420 km south of Sydney and 220 km southeast of the Australian capital Canberra. The area covers 149 districts and towns, including Bega, Bemboka, Bermagui, Bermagui South, Boydtown, Brogo, Burragate, Candelo, Cobargo, Eden, Grieg's Flat, Jellat Jellat, Kameruka, Kiah, Lochiel, Merimbula, Nethercote, Pambula, Pambula Beach , Quaama, Tathra, Timbillica, Towamba, Tura Beach, Wolumla, Wonboyn Lake, Wyndham and Yowrie. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Bega in the middle of the LGA, where about 4,150 people live.