Ballina Shire is a Local Government Area (LGA) in the Australian state of New South Wales. The area is 484 square kilometers and has about 40,000 inhabitants. Ballina is located in the extreme northeast of the state on the Pacific coast about 750 kilometers north of Sydney and 200 kilometers south of Brisbane. The area includes 49 districts and places, including Alstonville, Ballina, Empire Vale, Knockrow, Lennox Head, Teven, Wardell, Wollongbar and parts of Broad Water and Newrybar. The seat of the Shire Council is located in the town of Ballina, which has about 16,000 inhabitants. Ballina Shire is one of the fastest growing areas in the North Coast region - three-quarters of the population are under 60 years. The district lives mainly from tourism and fishing, but also produces sugar, macadamia nuts, beef, avocado and stone fruits. The coastal town of Lennox Head with about 6,000 inhabitants is a center for water sports.